Slow to No Data Speeds

Thank you for visiting the Straight Talk Forum, your one-stop resource for Straight Talk information.

Slow to No Data Speeds

Postby Trooper » Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:20 pm

Hi folks,

I am new to Straight Talk, as in today. I have an GSM Samsung Galaxy Nexus. My number was ported from Verizon and all is good, except for data.

What is happening (that I have noticed so far is).

1. When I try to go to any website via the stock browser, I keep getting a Authentication via the proxy server was unsuccessful message and the website does not display. Sometimes if I refresh it, it will then work.

2. Google Play gets a Network Error message. Takes a few tries to get it to work.

3. Using the Speedtest.net app, my download speeds wont work, or if they do, I am getting a whopping 6kps. Upload is over a meg 1344 or so. That should be right I suppose.

I used the APN settings from the Straight Talk Website, but still no go. The phone does report "H" up top so I should be getting better speeds than this correct? Any suggestions or should I just phone Straight Talk tech support?

My phone is on stock Jelly Bean OS from Google.

Oh also, how do I setup voice mail with you guys?

Thanks in advance!
Trooper

Re: Slow to No Data Speeds

Postby Charisse » Fri Aug 10, 2012 2:58 am

Hi Trooper. My name is Straight Talk Charisse. Let me help you. We need to take this issue offline so I can address it further. I will contact you directly with a private message and you will receive confirmation of this at the email address you provided when you signed up for this forum. Thanks.
Charisse

Postby Trooper » Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:56 pm

Hi. I am unable to reply to your PM. Can you please approve whatever you need to so I can get you this information. Data is horrible today. Not a good start to Straight Talk at all.

Thanks.
Trooper

Postby Trooper » Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:08 pm